Testimonials

Take a look at the reviews below to see why I am the right choice for quality personal training in County Down.

“Fun and Effective Tailored Personal Training”

"Hammer Fitness. Fun and effective tailored personal training. Hammer Fitness is personified by ex boxer Mick O'Connell, who trains you at home, bringing all equipment with him. Mick trains myself and my wife, both aged 53. We are naturally reluctant exercisers and would lack motivation to work out alone.
The sessions start with a warm up, then about 10 minutes of stretching, followed by a variety of HIT, conditioning and strength exercises. There is quite a bit of boxing, reflecting Mick's backround as a Commonwealth medallist.
The session plays out to a backround of music - we usually select 80s remixes though there's plenty of choice, and not a little of Mick whittering away in the backround, some of which consists of interesting anecdotes of his past exploits. Anyway, the time flies in.
We have noticed an improvement in fitness and endurance, enjoying this year's ski holiday considerably more as a result.

Mick is the third personal trainer we have had, and is the best by some way. We would recommend him unreservedly."

Mark Love - 5th April 2018

 “Great Iindividualised training program

“Great individualised training program to suit my specific strength and fitness goals. Mick ensured I got maximum benefit out of each session, knowing how far to push me whilst recovering from a sports injury. Thank you!”

Sorcha R

 “I Can’t Rate and Recommend Mick Highly Enough” 

“I can’t rate and recommend Mick highly enough, my Mum had been seeking to begin so form of exercise but didn’t have the confidence & motivation to attend a gym, classes etc. The service Mick provides as a PT coming to the house has been invaluable! My Mum is feeling good & healthy thanks to the exercise & motivation Mick has delivered.... my Mum now looks forward to each class!!! It’s a first class service”

Noel Gourley - 5 Star Review - 8th March 2018

 “Highly Recommend”

"Both myself and my wife have been having a few sessions with Mick over the last couple of months. We’re both fairly lazy people with plenty of excuses not to exercise, but having Mick come round to our house to whip us into shape is just what we needed and does away with all the excuses not to train. Mick works around our schedule even at silly o’clock in the morning, we’ve both lost weight, feeling fitter, stronger and healthier. Highly recommend."

Mick Padgett

 “I Would Highly Recommend as a PT”

"Have really enjoyed my sessions over the last few months and have seen great results. I’m feeling fitter, healthier and have even lost weight! Mick is enthusiastic, reliable and encouraging. He will do the exercise alongside you or distract you with conversation! No two sessions are the same but each definitely works every muscle! Mick will do his best to fit sessions in around what suits me. I would highly recommend as a PT.”

Rachael Reilly - 5 Star Review - 30 November 2017

 “Hammer Fitness NI Gets a Big Thumbs Up” 

“I've been working with Mick for 3 months now and this review is long overdue! My goal when I started with Mick in August was fitness and improving my health As a full time working mum of a 1.5year old and 3 year time is a precious commodity so Mick's ability to come to my house to save on a drive to a gym when the kids went to bed (which if I'm honest would never have happened) was the main attraction. Now three months in I'm loving the 'me' time I have when I'm training plus I've rediscovered my CD collection which for 3 hours a week transports me back to the White Isle circa 2008! Training never used to be this enjoyable. Importantly I'm feeling fitter and stronger. The game is upped at each session and I never feel unchallenged. My next goal is to rediscover my love of running which Mick can also help with should I need it which is great. Hammer Fitness NI gets a big thumbs up (or hands in the air!) from me!”

Nuala Watsony

 “Mick Pushes Me beyond My Perceived Limits”

“I have been training with Mick for over 3 months and I have lost weight and feel fitter and stronger. The most surprising thing is that I am actually enjoying the training sessions!! Each session is very varied and Mick pushes me beyond my perceived limits. There might yet be an athlete in me that I never knew existed!! I would thoroughly recommend Mick as a personal trainer - he is very professional and knowledgeable and he makes the workouts fun and varied.”

Lisa K

 “Great Results” 

“I'm a busy mum of 2 young boys, I wasn't eating properly, and moving up and up dress sizes. Cue Mick. Mick is friendly, fun, enthusiastic, and focussed. He fitted straight into my schedule, coming to my home at a time that suited me - normally when the baby was sleeping, however we did have a session or two with my toddler snacking in his high chair. And I have been to Mick's own gym so there’s plenty of options.
“Straight away, Mick identified I wasn't breathing correctly when exercising, and we rectified this on the first session. Sessions vary each time. If you want to work on a particular area, he will tailor the exercises to this. I had full body workouts, tough but you are so motivated when you compare how you have improved from the first session.
“I have toned up considerably, am fitter, and have loads of energy. Post-session, you are on such a high, improving mental health too. Fantastic results, thanks Mick. I will def be booking further sessions in the future, maybe introduce me to running?”
Rosemary R-14

 “Investing in My Health is Money Well-Spent”

" Nearing 40 and my sedentary lifestyle was taking over - I was slipping into old bad student habits. I recently decided to change and make badly needed lifestyle changes. Enter Mick! I have been training with Mick for just over 6 weeks and have noticed a number of positive body changes...already! Not only that, my friends and family have too. Two sessions a week, and with correct diet advice from Mick, I have been able to make those changes needed for a better lifestyle.

“I don't like working out, but sessions with Mick are both structured, well-focused, and fun. They do always make me feel better. Mick doesn't let me talk too much as it deflects attention from me, clever man! Mick always arrives on time at my home with his mobile gym, including music. Ever enthusiastic and bouncing with energy, he frequently gets involved which I find a great motivational tool. In the 6 weeks with Mick, I feel slimmer, stronger, and, with those all important dietary changes, healthier too. I'm so happy with things and am looking to do 3 sessions a week. Money very well spent investing in my health."
Review on Google by Mr M. M
5-Star Review on Facebook

 “Really Enjoying the Variety during the Sessions”

"I'm halfway through a great value 12-session package with Mick and I am really noticing the results. I'm feeling fitter, leaner, and healthier and I'm really enjoying the variety during the sessions. Mick starts at your level and builds you up, helping you go a little bit further each time to achieve the results you're after!”
Robert M
Businessman
5-Star Review on Facebook

 “HAMMER FITNESS NI - Without the hammering!”

“I did a 6 week course with Mick and couldn't recommend it enough. Mick was brilliant at motivating and inspiring me. He came to the house and was very flexible with my shift work and two young kids. He was always enthusiastic and really encouraged me to keep going. He kept in touch throughout the week with different suggestions for meal plans etc. Overall, I feel much fitter, stronger, I've lost weight, and feel back in control of my fitness. Thank you!"

Jude Smyth - 5 Star review on Facebook on 21st September 2017

 “Worth Every Penny!”

“Worth every penny! Absolutely love my PT sessions with Mick! He has such a positive attitude from the second you walk in the door and at the end of each session I can't wait to book in my next! Each session isdifferent and he pushes me to a limit I never thought i could reach! I'm getting fitter, more toned and feeling better in myself. Highly recommend, worth every penny!"

Suzanne R - 29th June 2017

 “Best Decision Ever”

“Best decision ever!!! I wouldn’t say I hated exercise but I always found it difficult to maintain a routine and keep motivated. This is where Mick comes in. The fact that he is mobile and will come to a place that suits me is great. And that he doesn’t mind the early starts!! It makes me feel like I’m not giving up too much of my spare time. Mick’s sessions are tailored to suit my own needs and are always fun and a little different which keeps it interesting. He knows when to push me so I’m getting the results I want. To be honest it was actually my intention to just complete the 6wk induction then to go it alone but I realised how much I’d miss my sessions with Mick so he hasn’t got rid of me yet!!!! Best decision ever......feeling fitter than ever! Thank you so much Mick!”

Sarah R - 25 April 2017

 “Amazing Trainer”

“Amazing Trainer I stumbled upon Mick on Google when looking for a Personal Trainer who could come to my work as mornings or evenings at a gym just didn't suit my work commitments. He is amazing! I booked his 6 week introductory package and lost 10kg and dropped 2 dress sizes. I followed his nutritional advice and put 100% into every workout and can't believe the transformation. Mick comes to every session thoroughly prepared with a written plan of exercises for that day. Not only has my shape completely changed but I am SO much more flexible and I'm loving the extra strength I have built up. Even on days when I don't exercise I am still losing weight due to my raised metabolism. I can't recommend Mick highly enough. You won't be disappointed!"

Juanita Duke - 16th January 2017

 “Money Very Well Spent”

“Best PT i have used yet. Nearing 40 and my sedentary lifestyle was taking over, i was slipping into old bad habits. Enter Mick! I been training with Mick for just over 6 weeks and have notice a number of positive body changes...already! Not only that, my friends and family have too. Two sessions a week, and with correct diet advice, I have been able to make those changes needed for a better lifestyle. I don't like working out but sessions with Mick are both structured, well focused and fun. They do always make me feel better. Mick doesn't let me talk too much as it deflects attention from me, clever man! Mick always arrives on time at my home with his mobile gym, including music. Ever enthusiastic and bouncing with energy, he frequently gets involved which I find a great motivational tool. In the 6weeks with Mick I feel slimmer, stronger and, with those all important dietary changes, healthier too. I'm so happy with things I'm looking to do 3 sessions a week. Money very well spent investing in my health”

Mark - 19th November 2016

 “Results Already”

“Halfway through a 6-week programme. I was chronically unfit over 23 stone, hated exercise, never was sporty, and was seriously unwell at the start of February (life threateningly so). Expected to hate the training but saw it as a necessary evil, surprised when despite it being challenging and hard work, I really enjoyed the sessions.

“Mick mixed up the training, modifying it to my abilities, adapting exercises when I was unable to do them, still targeting the same muscle groups but enabling me to gain strength and flexibility. Meaning despite being only 3 weeks in feel stronger, more flexible, and I have already decided to continue on with 1-on-1 training once 6 weeks is up.
“Mick pushes me but not in a bad, over-aggressive, ‘macho’ way, he pays attention, and gives great advice for exercise novices like me. Helps with advice around exercise routines, equipment, and levels of exertion, I am happy to encourage anyone trying to get fit or make changes in their lifestyle to give him a try.”
BarryL-17
4 Jul 2016